top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdam McGroarty

Interview 4: David Charlton


Image: Wix

After speaking to Nick from Aim-For, it soon became clear that I needed to speak to a Sports Psychologist to really add that professional insight to my project.


Despite being an organisation that has many Sports Psychologists working for them, I realised I needed to directly approach one of these instead of one of the co-founders at Aim-For.


Although I had a great chat with Nick, this was more suited to the two-minute audio part of the project since most of the information he told me was generally about Aim-For itself, and not about the psychological impact of injuries on athletes.


I plan to use the interview with Nick to present as a case study due to the unique nature of Aim-For's set-up.


But this meant I was on the hunt for a Sports Psychologist to speak to, as I was not satisfied with the level of detail I got from my first interviewee. I approached David Charlton on LinkedIn and arranged an interview after my main interview with Chris had taken place.



This really did help me since I could ask David why Chris made certain decisions on his road to recovery, whereas when I spoke to Nick, I did not have that interview with Chris under my belt.


David is the owner of Inspiring Sporting Excellence and also runs a podcast which offers psychological advice to athletes. He has worked first hand with injured athletes and told me all about how he deals with these clients and the advice that he gives to them. David was also able to tell me why Chris chose to take certain steps on his road to recovery, and the methods behind it.


Follow @sidelined_mmp on Twitter to keep up to date with the project's progression.







21 views
bottom of page